Player contracts awarded at Leinster

Leinster Rugby supporters

European Rugby’s Champions Cup winners Leinster have today released details of the 21 players who’ve been awarded contracts for the 2018/19 season.

Included in the 21 are established Internationals Tadhg Furlong, Rob Kearney, Sean Cronin, Fergus McFadden, Garry Ringrose and Rhys Ruddock.Leinster Head Coach Leo Cullen said, “This is another significant announcement and a huge endorsement of the work being done at grassroots level by the domestic rugby team, the CROs and the CCROs on a daily basis across the 12 counties.”“Of the 21 contracts announced today 18 came through the Leinster Rugby system and played in clubs and schools around the province.”“It is also great to see four players promoted from the Academy in the last few months and they will all start next season in the Senior squad.”“Jordan Larmour has grabbed a lot of the headlines given his involvement with Ireland during the Six Nations and starting last weekend but Vakh Abdaladze, Josh Murphy and Caelan Doris have all made telling contributions for both Leinster ‘A’ and the Senior side in the Guinness PRO14 during the course of the season.”“I am delighted for them and indeed their families and congratulate them.”Included in the list of 21 players are 12 Irish internationals with 280 caps between them.Leinster Rugby – New Senior Contracts 2018/19:

1. Vakh Abdaladze, 2 Leinster Caps (LC), 1 Leinster Try (T)
2. Michael Bent, 4 Ireland Caps (IC), 106 LC, 1 T
3. Ed Byrne, 23 LC, 2 T
4. Seán Cronin, 61 IC, 151 LC, 26 T
5. Barry Daly, 26 LC, 17 T
6. Tom Daly, 10 LC, 2 T
7. Peter Dooley, 47 LC, 2 T
8. Caelan Doris, 1 LC
9. Tadhg Furlong, 6 British & Irish Lions Caps (BIL), 23 IC, 82 LC, 4 T
10. Dave Kearney, 17 IC, 122 LC, 23 T
11. Rob Kearney, 8 BIL, 83 IC, 196 LC, 39 T
12. Jordan Larmour, 3 IC, 20 LC, 7 T
13. Nick McCarthy, 26 LC, 3 T
14. Fergus McFadden, 34 IC, 169 LC, 23 T
15. Ross Molony, 64 LC, 3 T
16. Josh Murphy, 9 LC, 1 T
17. Andrew Porter, 7 IC, 28 LC, 1 T
18. Garry Ringrose, 13 IC, 48 LC, 12 T
19. Rhys Ruddock, 19 IC, 140 LC, 7 T
20. James Tracy, 6 IC, 64 LC, 4 T
21. Josh van der Flier, 10 IC, 60 LC, 7 T*Statistics correct as of 12th May 2018

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: