Ireland squad named ahead of historic test match

Cricket Ireland Test Squad Announcement Ahead of the country’s historic first test match next week, Chairman of the National Men’s selectors Andrew White today announced Ireland’s squad for the game against Pakistan in Malahide (May 11-15).

There was no place in the squad for spinner George Dockrell, all-rounder Simi Singh, batsman Jack Tector or Durham bowler Barry McCarthy.

Leinster Lightening all-rounder Tyrone Kane, Northern Knights spinner James Shannon and Stuart Thompson were all named, along with Australian-born 22 year-old Nathan Smith.

With just one week to go until both sides take the field, Cricket Ireland Chief Executive Warren Deutrom announced that over 16,000 tickets had been sold for the game, which just shows the excitement levels around the country.

Here is the Ireland squad for the Test match against Pakistan;

William Porterfield (Capt)

Andrew Balbirnie

Ed Joyce

Tyrone Kane

Andy McBrine

Tim Murtagh

Kevin O’Brien

Niall O’Brien

Boyd Rankin

Nathan Smith

Paul Stirling

James Shannon

Stuart Thompson

Gary Wilson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: