Australia Claim Hero Champions Trophy

Champions Australia

Australia won the Hero Champions Trophy for a 14th time, and their 6th in 7 tournaments, after a penalty spot-out victory over India. 

This was India’s first final in 36 years of the event, and they almost pulled off what would have been a truely historical victory.

After Blake Govers missed a penalty stroke in the second quarter for Australia, India dominated the game but unfortunately for them couldn’t find a way past goalkeeper Tyler Lovell.

Action from the final

Lovell was also the star in the shoot-out, where he conceded only one goal, as Australia won 3-1. One small consolation for India was the announcement that Harmanpreet Singh, who was India’s only scorer in the shoot-out, was named as the best young player of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: